Jump to content


HELP... 2004 Pontiac Grand Prix ABS/Traction Control


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 jjlrrw

jjlrrw

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,229 posts
  • Current Sled:'10 CF8 SnoPro
  • Age:46
  • Location:Allendale, Mi

Posted 12 March 2011 - 12:20 PM

Daughters 2004 Grand Prix with the ABS & Traction Control light coming On. Just fixed the Heads up display now onto the the ABS/TC

At first start up the lights are off and will remain off until I apply brakes while turning. I am thinking a sensor in one of the front hubs but not sure how to decide which one if it is a front sensor.

The parts place said they couldn't read ABS codes with their scanner, I unplugged both front sensors and they had similar reading 1.08K ohms, I plan to check ohms while someone turns the wheel to see if one could be intermittent.

Any ideas? Am I way off base on this?

Thanks,
John

#2 SnOw sNoB

SnOw sNoB

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,721 posts
  • Current Sled:2010 Summit X 800R 146"
  • Age:24
  • Favorite Place to Ride:WITH SLEDHEAD......DUH!!!!
  • Location:wherever the deep powder falls....
  • Interests:im from ohio and i chase snow, i admit i dont see the problem

Posted 12 March 2011 - 12:28 PM

first off have someone scan the ABS that can...

second off, ABS sensor is part of the hub assembly which go bad on GM's alot, but the wiring harnesses also break so try peeling back the harness and look for some nice corroded wires,  but if you can get the codes to figure out which side would make your life a lot easier



your on the right track though

#3 jjlrrw

jjlrrw

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,229 posts
  • Current Sled:'10 CF8 SnoPro
  • Age:46
  • Location:Allendale, Mi

Posted 12 March 2011 - 12:43 PM

 SnOw sNoB, on Mar 12 2011, 12:28 PM, said:

first off have someone scan the ABS that can...

second off, ABS sensor is part of the hub assembly which go bad on GM's alot, but the wiring harnesses also break so try peeling back the harness and look for some nice corroded wires,  but if you can get the codes to figure out which side would make your life a lot easier



your on the right track though

Thanks Brent,  which wire harness the one that goes to the hub or the other that go to the vehicle or both?  I will check them out now that the car is in the garage with the wheels off.

#4 SnOw sNoB

SnOw sNoB

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,721 posts
  • Current Sled:2010 Summit X 800R 146"
  • Age:24
  • Favorite Place to Ride:WITH SLEDHEAD......DUH!!!!
  • Location:wherever the deep powder falls....
  • Interests:im from ohio and i chase snow, i admit i dont see the problem

Posted 12 March 2011 - 12:45 PM

the one from the vehicle.

the little harness going into the hub is all part of the hub itself

#5 *LawDog

*LawDog

    Advanced Member

  • Mod
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,630 posts
  • Current Sled:2010 Skidoo Back Country 800 R
  • Age:46
  • Favorite Place to Ride:Anywhere but the trails.....
  • Location:Newberry

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:11 PM

Usually the sensor like Brent said.. Dont bother trying to clean them as they will just fail again...  Gotta replace the hub...   If you buy cheap genric ones they will fail as well..  I did my 05 Tahoe and had GM ones installed , they are guaranteed for life....

#6 jjlrrw

jjlrrw

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,229 posts
  • Current Sled:'10 CF8 SnoPro
  • Age:46
  • Location:Allendale, Mi

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:21 PM

Checked the harness it looked good, the two wires were wrapped together then in the plastic conduit.  I did clean the connectors, checked the brake fluid it was down about 1/8" from the opening so I topped it off.  Took it for a spin and the lights did not come back on, time will tell... I did notice I was unable to disable the TC with the button ??? but the TC worked when the wheels started to spin and the ABS worked when stopping.  I have the car for a week so I will drive it and see how it goes.  Thinking about looking into a code reader any good ones that will read and clear engine, Trans and others like the ABS etc. without breaking the bank?

#7 SnOw sNoB

SnOw sNoB

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,721 posts
  • Current Sled:2010 Summit X 800R 146"
  • Age:24
  • Favorite Place to Ride:WITH SLEDHEAD......DUH!!!!
  • Location:wherever the deep powder falls....
  • Interests:im from ohio and i chase snow, i admit i dont see the problem

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:25 PM

 jjlrrw, on Mar 12 2011, 01:21 PM, said:

Checked the harness it looked good, the two wires were wrapped together then in the plastic conduit.  I did clean the connectors, checked the brake fluid it was down about 1/8" from the opening so I topped it off.  Took it for a spin and the lights did not come back on, time will tell... I did notice I was unable to disable the TC with the button ??? but the TC worked when the wheels started to spin and the ABS worked when stopping.  I have the car for a week so I will drive it and see how it goes.  Thinking about looking into a code reader any good ones that will read and clear engine, Trans and others like the ABS etc. without breaking the bank?



yea the wires like the break generally where they come outa the plastic conduit......so if you didnt see much id be leaning towards the hub assembly just gottta figure out which side it is.


no clue on scanners that wont break the bank lol

#8 SnOw sNoB

SnOw sNoB

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,721 posts
  • Current Sled:2010 Summit X 800R 146"
  • Age:24
  • Favorite Place to Ride:WITH SLEDHEAD......DUH!!!!
  • Location:wherever the deep powder falls....
  • Interests:im from ohio and i chase snow, i admit i dont see the problem

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:27 PM

heres a couple lower cost ones   but probably more out there   (click on page 8)

http://www.matcotool...#55296;�

#9 jjlrrw

jjlrrw

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,229 posts
  • Current Sled:'10 CF8 SnoPro
  • Age:46
  • Location:Allendale, Mi

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:37 PM

 SnOw sNoB, on Mar 12 2011, 01:27 PM, said:

heres a couple lower cost ones   but probably more out there   (click on page 8)

http://www.matcotool...#55296;�


First click on the link I see a $200 dollar empty box LOL  The one on page 8 not too bad for $70 if it saved one trip to the repair shop it would be payed for.

#10 SnOw sNoB

SnOw sNoB

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,721 posts
  • Current Sled:2010 Summit X 800R 146"
  • Age:24
  • Favorite Place to Ride:WITH SLEDHEAD......DUH!!!!
  • Location:wherever the deep powder falls....
  • Interests:im from ohio and i chase snow, i admit i dont see the problem

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:40 PM

yea but it doesnt look like it does ABS lol

#11 jjlrrw

jjlrrw

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,229 posts
  • Current Sled:'10 CF8 SnoPro
  • Age:46
  • Location:Allendale, Mi

Posted 12 March 2011 - 01:44 PM

 SnOw sNoB, on Mar 12 2011, 01:40 PM, said:

yea but it doesnt look like it does ABS lol


Good point that is my concern these days, I need to check at work I think they may have one the more I think about it.

#12 sleddinfool

sleddinfool

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Current Sled:09 crossfire r 1000
  • Age:49
  • Favorite Place to Ride:Hello????
  • Location:South Lyon

Posted 12 March 2011 - 06:58 PM

Innova has a scanner out that I think you can pick up at autozone for like $139.00. It will read check engine lights and abs codes.. Also has a live data streaming available on it. I have one, but haven't used it for any live streaming though yet. Kevin




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users